Welcome to the 2014 NECA Queensland Awards

Welcome   |   Steps to Submit Your Entry   |   Key Dates   |   Neca Offices
Judging   |   Conditions of Entry   |   Privacy   |   Guidelines/Criteria   |   Categories and Criteria


NECA is the peak national industry body for electrical and communications contractors in Australia. As the respected voice of the industry, NECA is dedicated to promoting the professionalism and ingenuity of our members by hosting the annual industry awards program.

The NECA Excellence Awards recognise the most technologically advanced and professionally managed projects in Australia and are a testament to the industry’s continual commitment to strive for excellence.

The 2014 NECA Excellence Awards allow electrical and communications contractors throughout Australia to showcase their top projects to their peers, the broader industry and the wider community.

Finalists and winners can use their NECA Excellence Award as a unique marketing opportunity to attract new clients and can benefit from possible media coverage as a result of their winning project being featured in both trade magazines and news media.


The Awards are open to NECA members and spread across ten categories, which are initially judged at state level. The winners of the NECA State Excellence Awards will be presented at state events throughout August and September 2014. State category winners are then judged nationally with the winners being presented at the National Excellence Awards dinner on Thursday, 27 November 2014 at the Grand Hyatt, Melbourne.

Please note: WINNERS of state events only will be eligible to enter the National Awards and in the category in which they won the state award.

3 Easy Steps to Submit Your Entry into the 2014 NECA Excellence Awards:

1. Create your very own ‘User Log-In' account.

2. Nominate your project.

3. Submit your entry.

Download the eAwards guide for a detailed description of these steps

Key Dates
Closing Dates for Submissions
Please contact your state office for the closing date of applications.
NECA Excellence Awards Event Dates
Victoria 1 August (Friday)
Australian Capital Territory 15 August (Friday)
Tasmania 23 August (Saturday)
Western Australia 23 August (Saturday)
South Australia 29 August (Friday)
New South Wales 5 September (Friday)
Queensland 12 September (Friday)
National 27 November (Thursday) - Melbourne



Locked Bag 1818
St Leonards  NSW 1590
Ph: 02 9439 8523
E-mail: necanat@neca.asn.au

Australian Capital Territory

PO Box 298
Ph: 02 6280 5580        
E-mail: act@neca.asn.au

New South Wales

PO Box 1106
Burwood North NSW 2134
Ph: 02 9744 1099
E-mail: necansw@neca.asn.au


PO Box 778
Archerfield QLD 4108
Ph:07 32767950
E-mail: necaq@neca.asn.au

South Australia

PO Box 47
Fullarton SA 5063
Ph:08 8272 2966        


PO Box 620
North Hobart TAS 7002
Ph: 03 6234 3464
E-Mail: necatas@neca.com.au


Level 12, 222 Kings Way
South Melbourne VIC 3205
Ph: 03 9645 5533        
E-mail: necavic@neca.asn.au

Western Australia

PO Box 782
Balcatta WA 6021
Ph:1300 632 292        
E-mail: necawa@necawa.asn.au

Conditions of Entry
  • Entrants must be current NECA 2014/2015 contractor members.
  • Entrants must adhere to the criteria of the category in which they enter.
  • The nominated projects or business venture must be completed (for projects to handover stage) after 1 July 2013
  • Entrants can enter no more than two projects per category.
  • Projects may be entered into more than one category
  • The applicant must obtain assurance of the client’s permission and cooperation in regard to access for judging and the use of photographs in their nomination.
  • By entering a project you give NECA permission to use project names and photographs on the NECA website, promotional material and media.


Entries will be assessed based on the information submitted in the application. It is important that applicants follow the judging criteria when preparing their nomination. The judges may undertake an inspection of your project.

The judging panels have expert knowledge and experience in all sectors of the industry. The panels comprise representatives from key sectors of the industry including:

  • Clients
  • Industry
  • Government
  • Specifiers

The judges and NECA reserve the right to transfer entries into the category they deem appropriate, withhold an award in a category if it is deemed the nominations do not meet the standard required or reject incomplete applications. Neither the judges nor NECA will enter into any correspondence regarding the judging process.


Information collected by the National Electrical and Communications Association is protected by the Privacy Amendment (Private Sector) Act 2000.  Information collected from the submissions is for the purpose of obtaining details to assist NECA in the award judging process and Awards multimedia presentation material and will not be disclosed to a third party, except where prior written permission is obtained from the individual who supplied the information and to whom the information related.  Please contact NECA if you wish to access or correct personal information collected or if you have any queries in regard to information handling procedures.

NECA Privacy Policy


Please tick the box and click on the below button to proceed to nominate.
I have read and understood the information above and I wish to nominate.